Apple Cinnamon Protein Muffins

Apple Cinnamon Protein Muffins

Healthy baking can be extremely tricky. Replace too much of the flour from the original recipe with protein powder and you’ll get “rock muffins”. Replace too much oil or butter with applesauce or banana and you’ll get mini biodomes that soak up the moisture from everything around them. Too much sucralose and you’ll get an artificial sweetener after taste!

I’ve been looking for an easy snack, around 100 calories with an equal amount of carbohydrates and a fair amount of protein, to have available for those times where you just need an extra something with your tea. When I started lifting heavier, I finally came to to accept the fact that calories are NOT all created equal. I started toying with my macronutrient ranges until I found something that worked for me. This is about 40% Protein, 40% Carbohydrates and 20% Fat. I’m currently working to get my calories from fat HIGHER because I’ve found that my body responds really well to healthy fats (avocado, coconut oil, olive oil, peanut butter, etc).

Anyway, once I started paying attention to my macros, my snacks became more important and I wasn’t thrilled with much on the market, so I started experimenting with baking. These apple cinnamon protein muffins are so perfect for a snack! I even like to freeze them and defrost them as I go, like homemade vita tops. Crumble them in greek yogurt for an extra protein boost!

Apple Cinnamon Protein Muffins
Makes 12 Muffins

2 cups dry, Old Fashioned Oats
1 Medium Apple, Diced
2 Scoops Protein Powder (I always use Whey but you could use another type if you prefer, and in this recipe I went with Cellucor Cinnamon Swirl to complement the cinnamon flavor but Vanilla would work well too!)
4 Egg Whites
6 oz NonFat Plain Greek Yogurt
2 Tbsp Granulated Sucralose
2 Tsp Cinnamon
1/2 Tsp Baking Powder

1) Preheat oven to 350 Degrees F.
2) Combine all ingredients in a bowl.
3) Pour into 12 muffin cups
4) Bake for 15 minutes, or until lightly browned on the outside. It’s very important not to overcook these, as whey protein tends to get dense when overcooked!

Nutrition Facts (Per 1 Muffin): 92 calories; 12 grams Carbohydrates; 1 gram Fat; 9 grams Protein

Leave a Reply

